So You Think You Can Dance Top 18

Hello!

0

Image Credit: www.k-4.net

On So You Think You Can Dance this week, the Top 18 performed in the hopes that they would make it to the Top 16. The night started strong with an AMAZING group number which I will talk about in a minute, but otherwise I was left a little underwhelmed. I had a hard time connecting to many of the choreographers’ work that was featured this week but there were still a few that stood out. Once again, Misty Copeland was back as the guest judge and I think she grew more comfortable in her critiques this time around. She gave solid, specific criticisms without being hurtful in any way, which is perfect for the show. Even Mary stepped up her game and got pretty technical with the ballroom dances. Nigel failed to be specific most of the time, going more on his personal feelings than anything, but oh well. I guess perfection really is unattainable. Anyway, here are my top 3 performance from this week!

1. Carly and Serge, Luther Brown Hip-Hop piece to “Senile” by Young Money, feat. Tyga, Nicki Minaj, and Lil Wayne

This dance was creepy and weird and found the pair dressed as skeletons. Naturally, Nigel didn’t get it, but the other judges loved it. And so did I. I’m normally not a fan of Luther Brown’s work but this one really struck me. Carly was excellent and really captured the movements of a skeleton with the loose quality to her dancing. Serge was pretty great as well. This pair has quickly become my favorite and I look forward to their dances every week.

2. Top 18 Opening Number, Christopher “Pharside” Jennings and Krystal “Pheonix’ Meraz Hip-Hop piece to “How It’s Done” by District 78

I loved the concept of this piece. It featured all of the contestants dressed as chess pieces dancing on a giant chess board. The movements were all really strong and aggressive and made the dance feel like a battle between the two sides. The lighting and the music complimented the piece really well also. It was just super cool!

3. Valerie and Ricky, Lacey Schwimmer Viennese Waltz to “I Won’t Give Up” by Jason Mraz

This pair compliments each other really well. And this dance was lovely. Their connection throughout the piece was strong. Both dancers were way out of their respective styles but I thought they did a great job. Their movements were smooth and graceful but with a lot of joy infused in them as well. And Valerie’s dress was sooo pretty! Well done costume department!

The two dancers sent home at the end of the night were Stanley and Jourdan. I had a feeling Jourdan would be going home but Stanley was a little bit of a surprise since the judges kept praising him so highly. They both seemed quite heart-broken to be leaving which made me sad, but I hadn’t been able to connect to either of them yet. How do you feel about the elimination? Did you want to see the contestants performs solos? Do you think Jourdan could wrestle a bear if she had to? (I think she could).

Until next week,

Bye!

 

Leave a Reply

