So You Think You Can Dance Top 20 Performances

I’m a few days late on posting my thoughts on this week’s So You Think You Can Dance episode but hey, maybe we value punctuality too highly as a society, ever think about that? Whoops! That got serious and defensive! Also off topic, so let’s get back on track. I went into the episode not knowing who the Top 20 were since I had missed a few shows due to work. I know, work is the WORST! (Unless you love your job. If you do, I congratulate you on being awesome! You sure know how to make good choices!) 🙂 But anyway, since I didn’t know anyone yet, the show felt a little blah to me for the first couple of dances. Was it just me or do most of the female dancers look eerily similar? And I would like to have some more useful comments from the judges besides things like “That was amazing!” Granted, a few of the dances were amazing, but the point of this show is for the dancers to grow as well as entertain and I would like more constructive criticism I guess. Also, the guest judge situation. Some I really have liked and give great feedback. But others are not the most helpful. I’m looking at you Jason Derulo.

Here are my top three dances from the night.

1. Jessica and Ricky, Sonya Tayeh Contemporary piece to “The Vow” by Meredith Monk.

This piece was absolutely breathtaking. I loved the time the dancers took to move through each movement and the lines they created were really gorgeous. Any dance that can keep the audience (mostly) quiet while watching it is usually one I fall in love with. I thought the music choice was excellent and the costumes and lighting complimented the piece well. Jessica and Ricky will both be dancers to watch this year. The way they were able to incorporate stillness into their movement was captivating and I’m kind of bummed they won’t be dancing together next week.

2. Valerie and Zack, Anthony Morigerato Tap piece to “Sing” by Ed Sheeran

Tap is so hard, you guys. It really is. But Valerie and Zack made it look easy. This piece was tons of fun and I loved how the tapping and music elevated each other. Sometimes with tap I find the rhythms tend to fight against the music a little bit, but that was not the case here. And the use of the stairs made everything that much harder. Keeping tension free while moving fast is super difficult but not a problem for these two. I’m happy to see another tap piece on SYTYCD as well.

3. Carly and Rudy, Stacey Tookey Contemporary piece to “Take it Easy” by Jetta

Let’s just say I’m a sucker for a wind machine. And I love Stacey Tookey’s choreography, like, 100% of the time. I agreed with Mary in that Rudy does hold a lot of tension in his shoulders and upper back throughout the piece. Since the dance was about letting go and enjoying life, I would have liked a little more release from him. But Carly was just gorgeous. The lifts and side by side work when the music crescendoed was really well done and the pair definitely have chemistry. I’m looking forward to both of their dances next week.

What were your favorite dances from last week? Also, does this season have more ballroom dancers than normal? Did anyone else blink and miss Snoop Dogg? (Dog or Dogg? Or is it Snoop Lion now? I can’t keep up).

Bye!

 

Leave a Reply

