Trees

Image

Image Credit: www.caryinstitute.org

I was thinking today about how much I love trees. They really are one of the greatest things about this planet. Not only do they provide us with clean air, but they serve as homes for so many creatures, give us shade and shelter, and are used in paper manufacturing. To put it plainly, life would suck without trees. 

Image

Image Credit: www.redwoodhikes.com

Living in a rural area all of my life, I’ve grown up surrounded by trees. My parents own a tree farm and I spent many hours of my childhood having adventures in the forest, far away from everything but chattering squirrels and quiet herds of deer. I loved the forest then and I love it now. Perhaps more so. It was in the forest where my imagination was allowed to flourish, where I battled monsters and rescued kingdoms, discovered buried treasure and tracked robbers. It was my playground and my safe-haven. It was and still is my home.

Image

Image Credit: www.willisorchards.com

So I am always saddened when I see forests bulldozed to make way for parking lots or a few more feet of cornfield. I wonder how long the now destroyed trees stood in that spot, watching the world change around them, before being ripped from the ground. Too often, we take the benefits of trees for granted and fail to protect them like we should. So with Earth Day coming up, please keep in mind how valuable trees are to life on this planet. 

Image

Image Credit: bingfotos.blogspot.com

Because life really would suck without trees.

Leave a Reply

