Sochi 2014 Closing Ceremony

Image

Image Credit: edition.cnn.com

Well, the 2014 Winter Olympics are officially over. The Closing Ceremony was last night and I think I may have loved it even more than the Opening Ceremony. One of my favorite parts was when the people formed the Olympic rings on the floor but the fifth group of people stayed closed, mirroring the snowflake that malfunctioned in the Opening Ceremony. The crowd loved it and there was a giant cheer when the fifth group of people finally opened up into the fifth Olympic ring. It was a great moment that wouldn’t have happened if the Opening Ceremony had gone on without a glitch.

Image

 Sochi Winter Olympics Closing Ceremony Matthew Stockman/Getty Images

I also particularly loved the journey through Russian culture showcasing art, literature, and, my favorite, ballet. Ballet is such a stunning art form and Russia has had a huge impact on it. And that chandelier was gorgeous!

Image

 Image Credit: www.deadline.com

The South Korean showcase was also very beautiful and I have high hopes for their Opening Ceremony in 2018. But my favorite part of all was the giant Olympic mascots that looked like cartoons come to life. They were incredibly well done and when Misha the Bear cried after extinguishing the Olympic cauldron, I was almost in tears myself.

Image

Image Credit: popwatch.ew.com

Image

 Image Credit: seen.co

(I will not cry over a fake bear…I will not cry over a fake bear)

After the lead-up to the games that was filled with concerns over security, human rights issues, and questions on Sochi’s readiness, the 2014 games went extremely well. The human rights issues still need to be addressed and I hope the world doesn’t forget about them now that the games are done. There was a lot of talk about boycotting these games because of the Russian government’s recent actions but I’m glad that didn’t happen. These athletes work incredibly hard to reach this level and deserve a chance to showcase what they can do. And while I am strongly opposed to the violations of human rights recently in Russia, I believe in the Olympic ideals of teamwork, perseverance, and peacefulness. The host nation does not always live up to these ideals, nor do the games themselves, but they are something to strive for and I hope the presence of these ideals in Russia will make the government rethink some of its policies.

Bye Olympics! See you in 2016!

Leave a Reply

