Self-Promotion and Sexism

I recently read an interesting article by author Sarah Rees Brennan about self-promotion and issues to do with sexism. In the article, she talks about how (generally) women are less comfortable with promoting their own work, especially women new to a particular field, than men are, and some instances of sexism she’s experienced in the literary world. One quote that really struck me is when she says, “[M]any people act like women have no right to a space in the world.” This really intrigued me because I’ve always been uncomfortable with self-promotion, (this is the hardest part for me in job interviews) and have always felt like I was bragging or coming off as arrogant when I am forced to talk about my accomplishments. I’ve never really thought too much about this part of my personality, but Rees Brennan’s article forced me to reevaluate this tendency. Do I inherently feel like as a female I’m not allowed to be as vocal about the things I’ve done that I’m proud of? Do I give men more leeway for “bragging” than women? I don’t know, but it’s something I plan to keep in mind in my interactions with others and with myself. 

Here’s the link to the full article: http://the-toast.net/2013/11/12/a-female-author-talks-about-sexism-and-self-promotion/view-all/

Leave a Reply

