NaNoWriMo Update: Week One, (Almost)

Hello all! It’s almost the end of week one of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) and let me tell you, it’s not getting easier. The thing I’m struggling with at the moment is the need to edit as I write. This is something I’ve always struggled with, but if you read my last post, I was overcoming with the help of NaNoWriMo! Well, it’s back. But that’s okay. It is through struggle that we become great, am I right? No really, AM I RIGHT? I certainly hope so because believe me guys, I’m a strugglin’. Which brings me to lesson #2: Persistence.

Now, if you’re like me and are someone who really likes routine for about a week and then gets bored, persistence is a good quality to cultivate. I’m the type of person who gets moderately good at something and then quits because the activity has just grown so DULL. One year it was playing the drums. Then it was fencing, ice skating, boxing. The list goes on. But the point is, I’m not quitting this time. There have been points over the last couple of days when I’ve doubted my ability to write anything decent and, you know, there’s an amazing cat video on Youtube that is sure to be much more interesting. But I’ve kept going. I am learning to persist!

(I mean, I feel like I’m doing that. Don’t really know. I’ll let you know in a week when I’ve decided to take up something else. Like curling, or bird watching. You know, something practical.)

So I want to wish you all Happy Writing! You can do it! PERSIST! (If it helps, think about how embarrassed you’ll be if I manage to and you don’t) I believe in you!

Leave a Reply

